search instagram arrow-down

Welcome BACK!

OP logo@4x-100

presents the

10th Multicore World

 13, 14, 15, 16, February 2023

Wellington, New Zealand

(Friday 17 February“Un-conference” day)

MW20 Group photo
Multicore World 2020 – Speakers and delegates (Trish Damkroger, HPE – Jim Ang, PNNL – Gernot Heiser, UNSW – Anne Elster, NTNU – Balazs Gerofi, RIKEN – Andrew Richards, Codeplay – Ewa Deelman, USC – Ruud van der Pas, Oracle – Laura Monroe, LANL – Samantika Sury, Intel – Werner Janse van Rensburg, CHPC – Jeff Zais, NIWA – Aaron Sowry, Cendio – among them).

We see tomorrow first.


Buy your Multicore World 2023 ticket NOW HERE

Multicore World 2020 – Professor Satoshi Matsuoka (Japan) showing the new Fujitsu A64FX processor that powers Fugaku -the fastest supercomputer in the world, 100x faster than its predecessor, K computer.
In the photo, Dr Jim Ang, Chief Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Lab (PNNL, USA) and Nicolás Erdödy (Open Parallel, New Zealand).


We proudly announce our 25+ speakers for Multicore World 2023.

Download one-page PDF poster here

Updated 22 November 2022.

Ian Foster. 2022 ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award. Senior Scientist and Distinguished Fellow. Director, Data Science and Learning Division, Argonne National Laboratory (ANL). Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor of Computer Science at the University of Chicago. US/New Zealand.

Douglas Kothe. Director of the Exascale Computing Project. U.S. Department of Energy (DoE).

Satoshi Matsuoka. Director, Riken – Center for Computational Science (R-CCS). Prof., Tokyo Inst. Tech, ACM/ISC/JSST Fellows. Japan. 2022 IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award.

Paolo Faraboschi. Vice President, HPE Fellow. Director, AI Research Lab, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Palo Alto, US.

Karen Willcox, MNZM. Director, Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences. Professor, Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, The University of Texas at Austin. US/New Zealand.

Keren Bergman. Charles Batchelor Professor of Electrical Engineering; Scientific Director, Center for Integrated Science and Engineering, Dept of Electrical Engineering, Columbia University, New York, US.

Tina Zou. Principal Engineer, Samsung. US.

Prineha Narang. Professor of theoretical and computational science. UCLA Howard Reiss Development Chair. NarangLab explores topics at the intersection of computational science, condensed matter theory, quantum photonics, and quantum information science. Prineha is also Founder and CTO Aliro Quantum -a quantum networking company.

Nash Palaniswamy. VicePresident and General Manager, AI, HPC, and Datacenter Accelerators solutions and sales , Sales & Marketing Group, Intel Corp. US.

Paul McKenney. Software Engineer, Meta. US.

Ivona Brandić. Professor at TU Wien. Hybrid Systems (Classic/Quantum), Trustworthy Edge Systems, Energy Efficiency, Quality of Service, HPC Systems, Geographically Distributed AI/ML. Vienna University of Technology, Austria.

James Ang. Chief Scientist for Computing in the Physical & Computational Sciences Directorate, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL). US.

Michela Taufer. Jack Dongarra Professor in High Performance Computing, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Dept. University of Tennessee. Editor in Chief for the Future Generation Computer System journal. US.

Geoffrey C. Fox. Professor of Computer Science, School of Engineering and Applied Science, Biocomplexity Institute, University of Virginia, US.

David Abramson. Professor of Computer Science. Director of the Research Computing Centre at the University of Queensland. Brisbane, Australia.

Manish Parashar. Office Director, Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure, US National Science Foundation (NSF). SCI Institute Director and Presidential Professor of Computer Science, University of Utah. US.

Ilkay Altintas. Chief Data Science Officer, San Diego Supercomputer Center, California. US.

Ruud van der Pas. Snr Principal Software Engineer, Oracle Linux Engineering and Virtualization. Netherlands.

Ewa Deelman. Research Director, University of Southern California Information Sciences Institute. US.

Andrew Richards. Founder, CEO, Codeplay Software. United Kingdom.

Pete Beckman. Co-Director, Northwestern Argonne Institute of Science and Engineering and Argonne Distinguished Fellow. US.

Mark Thomas. CEO, Founder, Nextspace. Auckland, New Zealand.

Laura Monroe. Mathematician and Computer Scientist at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). Senior Project Leader. Expert in resilience and novel computing techniques, especially inexact computing. US.

William Kamp. FPGA engineer, working full time on the design and development of the Central Signal Processors (CSP) for the Square Kilometre Array Radio Telescope (SKA), collaborating closely with NRC (Canada) to develop the Mid-frequency Correlator and Beamformer (Mid.CBF), and with CSIRO (Australia) and ASTRON (Netherlands) to develop the Low.CBF, two of the sub elements of the CSP. Kamputed Ltd, Hamilton, New Zealand.

Jeffrey Vetter. Corporate Fellow, Section Head for Advanced Computing System Research at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), US.

Rio Yokota. Associate Professor, Global Scientific Information and Computing Center, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan. His research interests lie at the intersection of HPC, linear algebra, and machine learning. Link to Yokota Lab here. NEW!

Kameron Christopher. Chief Scientist – High Performance Computing and Data Science. NIWA, Wellington, New Zealand. NEW!


Multicore World is a globally recognised destination conference.

Run on a non-profit, limited audience model, we offer only 90 tickets for sale.

Early Bird tickets for Multicore World 2023 available here till 30th November 2022. Buy now and save!

Multicore World 2019 – (L-R) Jeffrey S. Vetter (ORNL, USA), Prof Satoshi Matsuoka (RIKEN, Japan),  Nicolás Erdödy (Open Parallel, New Zealand), Pete Beckman (ANL, USA), Mark Seager (Intel, USA).

Multicore World 2023 State-of-the-Art themes include:

  • Software and Systems for the Enterprise: Decision-Making Support in a Complex World.
  • AI everywhere: what’s next?
  • Heterogeneous distributed computing systems. Is the new hardware useful?
  • Where’s my data? When every device becomes a Data-Centre.
  • Integration & the future of the Cloud: sending code to the data.
  • Lean OS, new algorithms, languages, power consumption: Programming Models and Co-Design.
  • New cybersecurity risks and responses. Will hardware ever be 100% trustworthy?
  • Edge Computing: implementation and scalability. Internet of Workflows. Networking.
  • Edge & exascale – friend or foe?
  • Open Platforms vs {meta, omni,…} -verses. Modelling, Simulation & Digital Twins.
  • IoT – HPC convergence. Industry applications into e.g., Precision Agriculture.
  • The path to quantum computing: race between countries or technologies?

Welcome to New Zealand!


Venue   – Sponsors   – About – Tickets

Catalyst IT open source technologists logo

Oracle Logo 2022 copy
Multicore World 2019 – Speaker – John Gustafson (NUS)
Multicore World 2018, The Hon Dr Megan Woods, New Zealand’s Minister of Research, Science and Innovation – Energy and Resources and Government Digital Services welcomes Ruud van der Pas (Oracle -shaking hands) and Martin Hilgeman (Dell-EMC) -both from the Netherlands.
Some of Multicore World 2017 participants: Nathan DeBardeleben (LANL, USA), John Gustafson (A*STAR, Singapore), Dave Jaggar (ex-Arm, New Zealand), Andreas Wicenec (ICRAR, Australia), Victoria Mclennan (OptimalBI, New Zealand), Happy Sithole (CHPC, South Africa), Paul McKenney (IBM, USA), Balasz Gerofi (Riken, Japan) among others.

Photo Credits:

Featured image: Pivot Photography – through Wellington Resource Hub

All others: © Open Parallel Ltd.

Visit Multicore World 2018