search instagram arrow-down



Updated 20 January 2019


  • Prof. Satoshi Matsuoka -Director of the RIKEN Centre for Computational Science -the largest supercomputing centre in Japan. Professor, High Performance Computing Systems Group, Global Scientific Information and Computing Center (GSIC) & Department of Mathematical and Computing Sciences, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan. Leader of the TSUBAME series of supercomputers, recently #1 in the world for power efficiency for both the Green 500 and Green Graph 500 lists. A fellow of the ACM and European ISC, has won the ACM Gordon Bell Prize in 2011, and the 2014 IEEE-CS Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award (MW17).


  • Mark Seager – Intel Fellow, Director of HPC Strategy, Intel Corporation. Mark leads Scale out strategy for Intel’s Exascale Computing, is a Fellow in Residence for Intel China and is working on an ecosystem approach to develop and build HPC and cloud systems with Exascale capabilities. Mark was instrumental in the development of Intel’s Scalable System Framework. San Francisco, USA. 


  • James A. Ang, Chief Scientist for Computing, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), Department of Energy (DOE), Richland, Washington, USAFormer manager at Sandia National Labs, DOE’s Exascale Computing Project.


  • Prof Ian Foster – Director, Data Science and Learning Division; Senior Scientist; Distinguished Fellow, Argonne National Laboratory. Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor of Computer Science, University of Chicago. Fellow, Institute for Molecular Engineering. Chief Troublemaker, Globus.orgUSA(MW13-15)


  • Karen Schramm, Vice President, Architecture, Broadcom, Inc. Karen leads a multi-site architecture team responsible for product definition and technology advancement across Broadcom’s Compute & Connectivity business which includes Network Interface Controllers, Network Processors, Switches and a portfolio of System-on-a-Chip devices. Boston, USA. 


  • Jeffrey S. Vetter, Distinguished R&D Staff Member, and the founding group leader of the Future Technologies Group in the Computer Science and Mathematics Division of Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL). His research focuses on the investigation and development of next-generation computational architectures, processor technologies and software systems to meet the demands of high-performance computing as it approaches exascale performance levels. These new technologies enable advances in computational tools, including ORNL’s top-rated Summit supercomputer, for solving problems in energy, advanced materials, artificial intelligence and other domains. Knoxville, Tennessee, USA. 



Multicore World 2017 – Michelle Y. Simmons, Scientia Professor of Quantum Physics at the University of New South Wales. 2018 Australian of the Year .


  • Ariel Hendel – Infrastructure Technologist, Facebook Inc. HW/engineering. Menlo Park, California. USA. His current field of interest is Data Center Networks, particularly simulations and how to guide and drive semiconductor innovation to maximize efficiencies of large scale Data Centers.


  • John L. Gustafson is an applied physicist and mathematician who is a Visiting Scientist at A*CRC and Professor at National University of Singapore, where he is directing efforts in Next-Generation Arithmetic. He is a former Director at Intel Labs and former Chief Product Architect at AMD. A pioneer in high-performance computing, he first demonstrated scalable massively parallel performance on real applications in 1988. This became known as Gustafson’s Law, for which he won the inaugural ACM Gordon Bell Prize. He is also a recipient of the IEEE Computer Society’s Golden Core Award (MW14-16-17-18).


  • Ruud van der Pas – Distinguished Engineer, SPARC Processor Organization at Oracle, Santa Clara, California, USA/Netherlands. Coauthor of Using OpenMP: Portable Shared Memory Parallel Programming and Using OpenMP – The Next Step: Affinity, Accelerators, Tasking, and SIMD (MIT Press). (MW18)


  • Prof Geoffrey C. Fox, Distinguished Professor of Informatics and Computing, and Physics at Indiana University. Director, Digital Science Center, Chair of Department of Intelligent Systems Engineering and Director of the Data Science program. Bloomington, IN, USA. (MW16)


  • Hugo Vincent, Head of Architecture and Security Research Group, ARM.   Hugo helped set up a research group looking at IoT, then a business unit around that where he worked on Mbed OS and around security, and now for the past few years back in Arm Research where he has been looking at architectural support for security (working with colleagues at DARPA, University of Cambridge, Google, and others) and leading the Security group. Cambridge, United Kingdom.
multicoreworld2018-113 mpi

Multicore World 2018 – Dr. Vicki Compton, Senior Policy Advisor, Ministry for Primary Industries of New Zealand


  • Gavin Stark – Chief Scientist, CTO, Netronome, Inc. USA.


  • Sean Blanchard – Systems Engineer, HPC expert, Los Alamos National Laboratory, New Mexico, USA


  • Victoria Crone – CEO, Callaghan Innovation, Auckland, New Zealand. Callaghan Innovation is New Zealand’s Innovation Agency.


  • Pete Beckman, Director, Northwestern University /Argonne National Laboratory Institute for Science and Engineering – Chicago, USA. (MW17)



Multicore World 2013 – Poul-Henning Kamp (FreeBSD) – Denmark


  • Nicolaas Viljoen – Associate Director, Software Engineering, Netronome, Inc. Netronome has developed a domain-specific architecture that allows customers to build accelerators for networking and storage applications in data center and edge computing markets, delivering efficient and high-performance heterogeneous solutions when paired with multi-core processors. San Francisco, USA. 



  • Dr. Mark Moir – Architect, Oracle, USA – New Zealand. Mark is giving a talk in every Multicore World since its creation. His traditional research interests concern practical and theoretical aspects of concurrent, distributed, and real-time computing, with a particular focus on hardware and software mechanisms for making it easier to develop scalable, efficient, and correct concurrent programs for shared-memory multiprocessors. (MW12-13-14-15-16-17-18)


  • Dr. Andrew Ensor – Director, New Zealand Square Kilometre Array Alliance (NZA) (MW13-14-15-16-17-18). Auckland, New Zealand


  • Bruno Lago – Managing Director at Catalyst Cloud, Wellington, New Zealand. NEW!


Nicolas Happy MW17

Multicore World 2017 – Dr Happy Sithole, Director Centre for High Performance Computing, South Africa


Featured Image (Top):

Multicore World 2017 – Nathan DeBardeleben, Los Alamos National Labs (LANL), USA

%d bloggers like this: